Featured
brian d Cgj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Paypal debit awful

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Paypal debit awful
Explore video interviews
Advertisements

long story short had a online paypal debit account for yrs never used the debit card someone hacked my wife and I account stole our money all but 79 dollars filed the claim they denied it , i live in baltimore charges came from florida can you believe while on the phone after the denial scammers was stealing the rest of the money and even a nagative status , unbelievable never ever trust this bank they even claimed 5 high charges which i never done before was consistant with my spending seems i been scammed and a victim of a bank

View full review
Loss:
$2200
Pros:
  • Paypal business is safe even paypal credit card
Cons:
  • Stay away from pay pal debit

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: stay away

Anonymous
map-marker Moneague, Parish Of Saint Ann

My account has been suspended why

This is so unfear can't believe my PayPal just close down for no reason paypal is to receive money an yet when you receive it it ho on hold then you have to upload information them they close it down an have to wait 7 months to get the money that lock down on your account this is silly am confus

View full review

User's recommendation: Paypal is not for the weak

Marlon G Hvz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

False Investigations & Non refundable lies

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

They just make up things as they go along, I have two other secretaries that call everyone, including and they fix anything, owes over $3',000 in refunds going back 2-3 for investigation that only take 45 days, take 45 minutes, and the never send investigation materiala

View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

Thom H Vzg

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was in Spain the whole time and it did show up on my front porch a week later, but it’s not what I had Ordered.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was in Spain...
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was... - Image 2
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was... - Image 3
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was... - Image 4
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was... - Image 5
PayPal - I was ripped off the tracking that I was receiving showed that it was... - Image 6

The product I purchased is not what they showed in their advertisement. They said I was going to pay a certain amount of money, and then they added shipping costs when the product was advertised as having free shipping.

There was a ridiculous amount of tax, 33%, added at the end of my purchase without my knowledge. I was definitely ripped off!

View full review
Loss:
$12
Pros:
  • You should feel safe from fraud because paypal says they will protect you and your information is secure
Cons:
  • Not sure if that will happen in this case since they said the case was closed and have not refunded my money that was stolen from me

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Do not buy this garbage get it from Amazon where it has some quality and you get what you pay for

Marlon G Hvz

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Artificial intelligence Fraud Stopped Payment

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Artificial intelligence Fraud Stopped Payment
PayPal - Artificial intelligence Fraud Stopped Payment - Image 2
PayPal - Artificial intelligence Fraud Stopped Payment - Image 3

Basically I went to the emergency room in Colombia, I had insurance but they kept the deposit. They say that it was returned but it was never returned, we asked stop pay, and give pesos they refuse to give pesos they refuse was returned but it was not reflected in the balance.

This can be tracked, they want to help.

Clinica Las Americas is a fraud hospital. The AI trick receipt drafted with one machine but returned on 3 different machines, which is weird stop use of NetSpend

View full review
Loss:
$513
Cons:
  • Disability

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stop Use of American Banks They Are Crooks

Resolved
Wellington Souza

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Payment made 6 weeks ago, they still did not pay my supplier

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Payment made 6 weeks ago, they still did not pay my supplier
PayPal - Payment made 6 weeks ago, they still did not pay my supplier - Image 2
PayPal - Payment made 6 weeks ago, they still did not pay my supplier - Image 3
PayPal - Payment made 6 weeks ago, they still did not pay my supplier - Image 4
Updated by user Mar 06, 2024

They finally deposited the total amount to my supplier after emailing their CEO. Sadly, I must reach this stage; I won't trust PayPal anymore. If anything goes wrong, there is not much to do unless wait for their endless resolution time for investigation.

Original review Feb 28, 2024
We made a payment of $1,100.00 on January 18, 2024, and until now (Feb 28), they haven't paid my supplier. They are clearly taking advantage of their resolution time.
It passed the required days, and they kept asking for more time to investigate what happened.
I have already lost my patience, I asked them to refund, and they declined to refund, saying that it was an authentic transaction.
On the other hand, they keep asking for more time from my supplier. To avoid issues with my supplier stopping the service, I had to pay him again using another broker.
Until now, he could not withdraw his money from PayPal yet.
View full review
Loss:
$1100
Pros:
  • Accepted by many online sellers
Cons:
  • Resolution center is useless
  • Nobody to talk by phone

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Use other service, PayPal is cheating on their customers

Egor G

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

URGENT: PayPal account restoration

URGENT: PayPal account restoration
URGENT: PayPal account restoration - Image 2
URGENT: PayPal account restoration - Image 3

My name is Egor and Im a long-time PayPal user who has never violated the Acceptable Use Policy. Despite this, I received the horrible shock of a You can no longer do business with PayPal email today.

At the advice of counsel, Im sending you a polite message with details and information so that this policy mistake can be corrected and that my account can be restored to full functionality.

I primarily use PayPal for providing services for example (Operation code

082140****090361A) . Everything I do on PayPal is completely legal, I can provide any reviews from my clients and be sure that everything is working out good for me.

Here are several examples of recent transactions:

1.Transaction ID

5EB87795J390****C

2.Transaction ID

7A986388H198****F

3.Transaction ID

1BS95380JW734542L

4.Transaction ID

7B338421X8502****

5.Transaction ID

1XR13752DA265805T

None of these violate the AUP. To be honest, I have no idea what could have triggered this mistake. I reviewed it in close detail.

I looked on r/PayPal and I am not the only person who has had this problem - many users have been wrongly suspended for no apparent policy violation, especially within the past several days. I worry that it will shake the publics faith in PayPal as a reliable service, especially if users take their complaints to the appropriate business oversight authorities.

I plan to file complaints if my account is not restored within the expected 72-hour window.

Reference ID: PP-L-473819****54

Please forward this on to the correct internal department that handles PayPal accounts. I look forward to hearing back from you once my case is reviewed and the limitation is reconsidered.

Sincerely,

Egor Guryanov

(CONFIDENTIAL)

View full review
Loss:
$24000
Pros:
  • No pros
Cons:
  • Not stable

Preferred solution: Get my account unbanned

User's recommendation: Be careful

Chandre D

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I cannot login to my account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - I cannot login to my account
PayPal - I cannot login to my account - Image 2
Original review Apr 23, 2024

Dear PayPal Support,

I hope this message finds you well. I am currently experiencing difficulty accessing my PayPal account due to a change in my mobile number.

Unfortunately, I no longer receive messages to verify my login attempts, rendering me unable to access my account.

I kindly request assistance in updating my mobile number to +276*****, which is my current contact number. Regrettably, I am unable to perform this change myself as I am unable to log in to the platform altogether.

Additionally, I find it puzzling that I am repeatedly prompted to log in when attempting to resolve this issue. Given that the issue lies with logging in, it seems counterintuitive to continuously prompt me to the login page. I would greatly appreciate your help and guidance in resolving this matter promptly.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Warm regards,

Chandre

Update: I recently received an email from PayPal stating that they would contact me soon, but unfortunately, I haven't heard from them yet. Despite reaching out and requesting a callback, I received no response, even after explaining that I have no airtime left. The lack of follow-up from the customer service representative was disappointing, and I'm still unable to log in to make necessary changes to my account. Additionally, the customer service representative phoned briefly and dropped the call, only to send an email advising me to log in for assistance.

This has left me feeling frustrated and disappointed with the service provided, especially as my problem persists and I cannot log in to address it. Despite providing my new number as requested, I was not assisted in logging in to make the necessary changes myself. I feel stuck and unsure of how to proceed. Any guidance on resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Update Update: Yay!

LOLPayPal finally reached out to me. However, the representative informed me that she called the number provided on my PayPal account rather than the one I provided when contacting PayPal through PissedConsumer. It seems there may have been a misunderstanding, as the representative called the number I provided through PissedConsumer, which was necessary since I couldn't access my account due to a changed number. Additionally, it must be pure sorcery for her to come through to my new number using my old number as a contact.

The numbers are from different service or network providers and are clearly not the same, which caused the problem I experienced. Nonetheless, I want to express my gratitude to the representative, Faith, who assisted me in resolving the issue by deactivating the 2-step authentication and allowing me to access my account and add another number. Unfortunately, I'm unable to remove the old number from the system on my end or at all, it seems.

Still, I appreciate being able to login to my account now. Happy

View full review
Pros:
  • Way to be paid for my hard work
Cons:
  • You cannot login to your account

User's recommendation: Ensure you have sufficient airtime when calling PayPal for assistance, as their representatives may not respond promptly. The representative I dealt with, whom I kindly asked to call me back, returned a call that lasted only one second before being dropped. It appeared on my screen, and as I was about to answer, it was immediately dropped. Subsequently, I received an email instructing me to log in for assistance, despite my ongoing login issue. Hence, I still cannot log in.

Jack S Vgb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Suspected of False Advertisement

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Suspected of False Advertisement

In the buyer's protection program that's clearly advertised on the PayPal.com website, there are several instances where the financial institution goes out of its way allegedly to harm its own customers through physical means and also illicit goods or services. When confronted with allegations, PayPal, namely a business bank, had shown multiple counts of evidence aligning itself with felony assailants who committed several punishable acts under the law. The targeted acts included theft, aggravated assaults with deadly weapons, and more.

Further evidence suggests that PayPal was assisting the culprits by freezing off PayPal protection and creating a means of using a personal small business Mastercard for payments. This move left the PayPal customer vulnerable to a series of attacks against him and several altercations in stores where he used the PayPal Mastercard. He was followed by hired thugs that made obvious attempts at gang warfare.

Despite being protected by consumer affairs and the Better Business Association, PayPal began to show an extreme devaluation of aligned criminal intent directed at the victim. Legal authorities had also been verified to abide such conjoined alliances, hence showing a lack of mercy or respect. Such behavior might leave both parties available for criminal prosecution and feeling empty due to the improper usage of otherwise usual proper Corporate businesses that often prevail over a criminal personality.

View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stock price reflect moderate value for financial obligations

Ignatius R Its

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Buyer protection has significant caveats you should be aware of

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Buyer protection has significant caveats you should be aware of
PayPal - Buyer protection has significant caveats you should be aware of - Image 2

Paypal has multiple website pages that promise a full refund, including original shipping. But caveat emptor!!!

One of the caveats, hidden deep in the bowels of their legalhub is quote "if youre filing a Significantly Not as Described claim.

PayPal may require you, at your expense, to ship the item back to the seller, to PayPal or to a third party (which will be specified by PayPal) and to provide proof of delivery." WHAT THAT MEANS TO YOU IS "if the merchant makes a mistake and sends the wrong thing, the consumer is responsible for covering the costs of that mistake."

But wait! It gets worse. The merchant I purchased from posts a return policy specifying that the consumer is not responsible for return shipping when the wrong item was sent.

I ordered a black shirt and received a white shirt. Despite the merchant's return policy, PayPal refuses to process a refund until I send the white shirt back AT MY EXPENSE.

So, before purchasing something from a PayPal merchant, consider how much it's going to cost you to send it back if the merchant sends the wrong thing.

View full review
Loss:
$39
Pros:
  • Easy to use to pay for things online
Cons:
  • Buyer protection has unacceptable caveats

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Be prepared to pay return shipping, regardless of the reason for your return.

Hassan B Ada

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Tabletennis_kw@***.com

PayPal - Tabletennis_kw@***.com
PayPal - Tabletennis_kw@***.com - Image 2

Yesterday, I bought from eBay through PayPal, but my payment was declined. However, my credit card shows the payment was made.

View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

Dhplus A

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Manama, Manama

My account was permanently limiting

PayPal - My account was permanently limiting
PayPal - My account was permanently limiting - Image 2

What is the reason for this and how can I resolve my issues as soon as possible, please? I am currently facing issues with sending and withdrawing my money.

View full review
Tania E Zob

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Déverrouiller mon compte

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Déverrouiller mon compte

Bonjour, je suis madame Tania, vous aviez verrouillé mon compte Paypal , je narrive plus à me connecter,

Veillez sil vous plaît déverrouiller mon compte

Nom : epemboenda@***.com

View full review
Pros:
  • Bon suivie pour les commande en ligne
Cons:
  • Non

Preferred solution: L’accès à mon compte.

User's recommendation: Pas avec ce problème d’accès verrouillé

John L Kox

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Knivesharp.com

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal - Knivesharp.com
PayPal - Knivesharp.com - Image 2
Updated by user May 27, 2024

Knivesharp.com… I am pretty sure is a scam site. My reason for this train of thought is that the check out always tries to set up a monthly subscription instead of just a pay for the merchandise.

PayPal is no help. *** PayPal for the obvious enabler mentality they have for keeping their head in the sand on an obvious problem.

Original review May 24, 2024

When I go to check out strange things. One it comes across as a donation

Two it comes across as a subscription

Please check the validly of the site.

View full review
Cons:
  • Does not respond to questions

Preferred solution: Is knivesharp.com website valid?

User's recommendation: Nope

ERIC P Wiy

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Cupertino, California

I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not receive item

I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not receive item
I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not... - Image 2
I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not... - Image 3
I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not... - Image 4
I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not... - Image 5
I filed a dispute, Paypal did refund but charge again. I never said that not... - Image 6

I ordered Reno 10 phone to weiligu02 on 11/29/24. (Paypal Credit #9410)

When before I order seller confirmed it may use with Verizon in USA as attached 3 seller's message.

I received a phone and try to activate but Verizon told me that it can not use in USA.

So I did request refund, but seller didn't refund and seller told me that need not return it because return fee expensive as attached message.

So I did request dispute as attached.

Paypal refunded on 1/202424.

But charged again. Reason is received item.

I never said that not receive item.

Paypal charged security fee $1.92 for this in case like this case. but refunded after problem.

(I couldn't send the evidence thru online message, too many times error)

Why Paypal activity not appeared this transaction.

View full review
Resolved
Chandre D

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Cape Town, Western Cape

Resolved: I cannot login to my account

PayPal - I cannot login to my account
PayPal - I cannot login to my account - Image 2

Dear PayPal Support,

I hope this message finds you well. I am currently experiencing difficulty accessing my PayPal account due to a change in my mobile number.

Unfortunately, I no longer receive messages to verify my login attempts, rendering me unable to access my account.

I kindly request assistance in updating my mobile number to +276********, which is my current contact number. Regrettably, I am unable to perform this change myself as I am unable to log in to the platform altogether.

Additionally, I find it puzzling that I am repeatedly prompted to log in when attempting to resolve this issue. Given that the issue lies with logging in, it seems counterintuitive to continuously prompt me to the login page.

I would greatly appreciate your help and guidance in resolving this matter promptly.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Warm regards,

Chandre

View full review

User's recommendation: I recently received an email from PayPal stating that they would contact me soon, but unfortunately, I haven't heard from them yet. Despite reaching out and requesting a callback, I received no response, even after explaining that I have no airtime left. The lack of follow-up from the customer service representative was disappointing, and I'm still unable to log in to make necessary changes to my account. Additionally, the customer service representative phoned briefly and dropped the call, only to send an email advising me to log in for assistance. This has left me feeling frustrated and disappointed with the service provided, especially as my problem persists and I cannot log in to address it. Despite providing my new number as requested, I was not assisted in logging in to make the necessary changes myself. I feel stuck and unsure of how to proceed. Any guidance on resolving this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Joseph W Sui

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

PayPal allows ongoing erroneous charges to my account

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
PayPal allows ongoing erroneous charges to my account
PayPal allows ongoing erroneous charges to my account - Image 2

I reported an erroneous recurring charge to PayPal. The charge states that it is to Dell computers.

However, Dell is a company that I have never done business with personally and the number the merchant provided does not actually work (just a number that has been disconnected).

Despite my word and no way to actually contact the merchant, PayPal refuses to do anything about it. It is literally my word against no ones, and PayPal continues to allow the charge.

To try and remedy this, I have cancelled the credit card associated with the PayPal account. When I added the replacement card, PayPal allowed the next erroneous recurring charge to my new credit card without my permission. My credit card company finally closed out the account completely, issuing me a different type of card that will never be associated with PayPal.

I am now trying to close my PayPal account.

PayPal asserts that I have pending transactions and an open PayPal credit account, so I cannot close the account. When I ask what the pending transactions are, PayPal assistant tells me that I do not have any pending transactions (See attached for detail). When I call to close the credit account, I am correctly told that it has been closed for a month.

When I try to unlink my bank account, I get an error that I cannot because it is the only payment account associated with my PayPal account.

I am now stuck with a PayPal account that will never be used again that has my banking information attached to it. My only recourse at this point is to block all PayPal transactions on my checking account, effectively limiting me to Venmo, Google Pay, Skrill, Tipalti, Payoneer, Square, Stripe, Venmo, ApplePay, or hundreds of other alternatives.

Seem simple, but that does not prevent an unnecessary avenue for hackers to access my banking information, exposing me to yet more financial fraud at PayPals insistence.

And from what I can tell from this experience, PayPal is actually helping hackers to steal money from people via fake charges, even when the hackers provide fake contact information and are reported by victims.

All I want is my PayPal account to be closed.

I am going to copy and paste this into BBB complaints, consumer protection agency complaints, and a report to the FTC. My hope is that someone can find out who at PayPal is complicit, because there appears to be intention on the PayPal side.

View full review
Loss:
$274
Pros:
  • Pacing the way for many superior payment optikn
  • It was the first
Cons:
  • Paypal employees complicit in fraud

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Use another payment option.

About

Related Companies

Venmo, Bill Me Later, Xoom, Braintree, Swift Financial

Summary

PayPal is the new way to transact business online. PayPal lets you send money to anyone with email using money on your account, your bank account or credit cards. You will find reviews and compalints from consumers that have experienced the service. Paypal is a subsidiary of the EBay Corporation. If you have your own story to share, feel free to leave a comment with us. We will make sure your story about PayPal will available on the World Wide Web.

PayPal reviews and complaints

PayPal is ranked 73 out of 259 in Cash Services category

Area Served

Europe, Worldwide, USA, Asia, Australia, Canada, Other, UK

Payment Methods

PayPalMasterCardVISADiscoverAmerican Express

PayPal FAQs

Winnie Murugi
Winnie Murugi
PissedConsumer Reporter

PayPal is a web-based payment service that allows people to complete funds transfers almost the world over. It can be linked to a bank account, credit/debit card to perform online purchases.

PayPal FAQs

There are two types of accounts: individual and business. To set up an account, a user should go to the official website, select a type of account, enter the required information, and follow the instructions provided. Once the account is ready, it can be linked to a bank account, credit/debit card.

To send money through PayPal, users should log into their accounts, click Send & Request, enter the email address or mobile number of the recipient, and enter the amount they want to transfer. Then, it is necessary to review the information and click Send Money Now.

To dispute a charge, users should log into their accounts, go to a Resolution Center, click Dispute a Transaction, and select the item dispute. Please note that disputes must be opened within 180 days of the payment date. Your buyer and you have about 20 days to resolve the open dispute.

To permanently delete an account, users should log into their accounts, go to Settings, and click Close the account under Account Options. It may be necessary to enter the bank account number. No one can close the account if it has any limitations, unresolved issues, or any balance.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article